How many chapters are in the Demon Slayer manga? Full list and arcs, explained

Demon Slayer as a manga and anime series has garnered a ton of attention over the past few years. Ever since the anime adaptation was announced, fans were hooked to the series. Top-tier animation, fleshed-out characters, and a well-written story are some of the reasons why this series was popular.

The anime series recently concluded its third installment and it is halfway through the overall plot. The source material, i.e. the manga, has already completed its run. The mangaka, Koyoharu Gotouge, has done a stellar job with the manga in terms of the overall art. The quality is consistent and its pacing is quite good. It is a relatively short read compared to most shonen manga series, but entertaining nonetheless.

With that said, this is the perfect time to revisit the status of the series, and take a look at the overall story arcs and chapter list of Demon Slayer.

Disclaimer: This article contains massive spoilers from the Demon Slayer manga chapters.

Demon Slayer: Story arcs and full chapter list of the manga

1) Final Selection arc

In this story arc, the backstory of the main character, Tanjiro Kamado and his family is set up. Following this, the Final Selection takes place to determine the candidates who will go on to join the Demon Slayer Corps.

2) Kidnapper’s Bog arc

A still featuring the Swamp Demon (Image via Ufotable)

This story arc is essentially Tanjiro’s first-ever mission after becoming a demon hunter. He investigates missing women in one of the villages, and uncovers the secret behind it. This is when the Swamp Demon is introduced in the series.

3) Asakusa arc

The Asakusa arc is important as it introduces the prime antagonist of the series. He also comes across Lady Tamayo and Yujiro who are pivotal in the progression of the plot. Tanjiro encounters a demon who claimed to be a Lower Moon demon, but that wasn’t the case.

4) Tsuzumi Mansion arc

In this arc, we are introduced to both Zenitsu Agatsuma and Inosuke Hashibira. They’re important characters who accompany Tanjiro in his journey to kill all demons. They’re also great sources of comedic relief. This is when all three of them team up to defeat the Drum Demon who was once a part of the Lower Moons.

5) Mount Natagumo arc

This is an important arc that tested Tanjiro Kamado, Zenitsu Agatsuma and Inosuke Hashibira’s limits as demon hunters. They are pitted against Rui, who was a high-ranked Lower Moon demon. This fight hints at Tanjiro’s potential in the series and how he will play a vital role towards the last few chapters of the Demon Slayer series.

6) Rehabilitation arc

In this story arc, Kanao Tsuyuri is introduced in the series. The trio are undergoing rehabilitation in the Butterfly Mansion and Kanao plays a key role in helping the demon hunters recover. This is also when all of the Hashiras are introduced, and Nezuko’s fate was decided by the leader of the Demon Slayer Corps.

7) Mugen Train arc

Tanjiro, Inosuke, and Zenitsu along with the Fire Hashira, Kyojuro Rengoku, investigate a train where people go missing. They realize that it was a demon, and they manage to neutralize the situation. However, Upper Moon 3 demon, Akaza, appears out of nowhere. Rengoku sacrificed his life to save the ones on board.

8) Entertainment District arc

Arguably one of the funniest story arcs in the Demon Slayer series, Inosuke Hashibira really shined in this arc. Some of the funniest moments were seen here. Additionally, Tengen Uzui showcases his true strength as a Hashira. Tanjiro, his friends, and the Sound Hashira take on the Uppper Moon 6 demons – Gyutaro and Daki.

9) Swordsmith Village arc

The hidden village containing all the wordsmiths is now invaded by two Upper Moon demons – Gyokko and Hantengu. Tanjiro, along with Mitsuri Kanroji (Love Hashira) and Muichiro Tokito (Mist Hashira) take them on and save the villagers. This is when Nezuko also conquers the sun, all thanks to Tanjiro and Tamayo’s efforts.

10) Hashira Training arc

Tanjiro is trained by Gyomei Himejima for the upcoming battles. The training is difficult and long, but Tanjiro will not rest until he gets the Stone Hashira’s approval. In the meantime, the Demno King attempts to locate both Nezuko and the leader of the Demon Slayer Corps.

11) Final Battle

The Final Battle arc can be further split into two – Infinity Castle arc Sunrise Countdown arc.

This arc will feature an all-out attack on the Upper Moon demons and Kibutsuji Muzan. Zenitsu will also take on Kaigaku, the replacement Upper Moon demon to avenge Jigoro’s death. Demon hunters including Hashiras will take on Akaza (Upper Moon 3) Doma (Upper Moon 2) and Kokushibo (Upper Moon 1). Follwing this, they will also take on Muzan in an attempt to defeat him once and for all.

Infinity Castle arc

Sunrise Countdown arc

Stay tuned for more anime and manga news as 2023 progresses.

Profile picture